Badge #3: Empowered User (Garage Band)

My song starts out as this ethereal, otherworldly creature until it builds into a trip down to Funkytown

My song starts out as this ethereal, otherworldly creature until it builds into a trip down to Funkytown

For my third badge, I decided to pursue one of the options from the empowered user category. I ultimately went with Garage Band. I actually started this project approximately forever ago; however, my hard drive was almost certainly crashing every time I opened the application so I waited until my computer sufficiently cooled down (which was achieved only after I restored it to factory settings and only put some of my files back on the computer). I threw away my existing file and created a new version of my song for the badge.

After watching the Todd Howard teaching videos on Lynda.com, I felt significantly more confident in my ability to not only mess around in Garage Band but also to actually create something resembling a song. The song I ultimately created fused together funk and ethereal.

In order to create the song, I looked through the available loops and chose assorted instrumental aspects. I knew that I wanted to incorporate the beat called Club Dance Beat 007, so I worked outward in content from there. I integrated an electronic piano loop that made the song start out as otherworldly, but when I brought it back later in the piece, it is grounded by bongos to connect it more with the funky parts of the song.

The software is extremely user-friendly, and I really enjoyed my time with it. It would be exciting to play an actual instrument and record parts into the program. I watched Todd Howard’s tutorial on that, but I have yet to try it since I don’t have any instruments at my disposal currently. It would be cool for the piece to feature me in some more obvious way though.

Leave a Reply

