Cat-Dog Showdown (Part I?)

The chase begins when the perplexed pup sees the crazy cat arrive on the tracks

The chase begins when the perplexed pup sees the crazy cat arrive on the tracks

So the process of playing around in Scratch was actually pretty fun overall, but my game ended up being a little bit on the simpler side. I think that the premise of this tool is awesome, because the idea of gaining confidence with computers and technology at a young age is a really cool concept. It’s very visually based, and the way that you can sort of mess around with each of the blocks until you sort of figure out exactly what it is you want is very intuitive, and actually is strongly reminiscent of the childhood pastime of fiddling around with Legos or other toys until you succeeded in building exactly what you wanted. The user interface is great for learning how to build code. If Javascript runs using categories similar to these, this will have been a very useful step in entering a new script.

I realized that my tendency to code all over the place sort of carried over to Scratch...I tried to clean it up, as evidenced by this screenshot

I realized that my tendency to code all over the place sort of carried over to Scratch…I tried to clean it up, as evidenced by this screenshot

My main questions about how this tool works ended up being things I figured out the answer to given enough time. I had difficulty figuring out how to make the crazy cat stop moving all over the screen once the dog attained his goal of catching the cat 10 times, but I figured out how to stop that script after a while.

My game project ended up being a chasing/tag sort of game where the premise is that the dog continuously gets outsmarted by the cat and the cat arrives on the scene and taunts the dog. The player acts as the dog who tries to tag the cat 10 times in order to successfully catch the cat.

Leave a Reply

