So Much CSS Progress!: A Romantic Comedy about the Unlikely Love Between Me and CSS

I feel super accomplished after accomplishing this homework assignment. Using Photoshop to help with design was immensely useful and it somehow helped me understand CSS better. Knowing the dimensions and sizes of everything and having a clear model to follow that I planned out in advance was very beneficial and I moved through the assignment unbelievably efficiently (specifically when compared with how long I spent on minisite #2…/*painful memories*/).

This homework probably took a bit over two hours to complete in addition to the first one and a half to two hours or so dedicated to Photoshop design. The issue I had the most difficulty with was learning how to get my divs to float next to each other–initially, they wouldn’t stay next to each other even when I made sure the two parts added up to 960 pixels overall. Eventually, I used an absolute positioning tactic to keep the sidebar on the left side so that the content div could stay to the right of it.

An issue I would’ve liked to resolve better would be my top navigation bar but a lot of the tutorials I found suggested the usage of Javascript to make navigation bars that I liked the aesthetics of, so I’m interested to see how Javascript compliments the HTML and CSS knowledge that I now feel comfortable with (for the most part).

This is a screenshot of the same information once uploaded to the transmedia server

This is a screenshot of the same information once uploaded to the transmedia server

This is a screenshot of my local computer's version of the website (navbar is displayed properly!)

This is a screenshot of my local computer’s version of the website (navbar is displayed properly!)

One other problem that seems to be occurring is that every time I upload my css file to the transmedia server, it changes the size of my navigation bar font from 20 to 28pt. I checked the css online it says it’s 28pt; however, I have updated it twice to 20pt and double-checked that I correctly uploaded/overwrote the file, so I’m not sure exactly what is causing that. Is it possible that the browser has expected specifications for font display for a navigation bar or something?

Overall, this experience was super gratifying and useful–my confidence with CSS has increased significantly. Yay!

Leave a Reply

