The Quick Brown Fox Jumped Over the Lazy Dogs… Again and Again and Again

…until I finally found my workhorse fonts of choice. To the assignment first though:

1) Each of the typefaces would have been very expensive–for the Optima Standard Full Family, it would cost $265; for Frutiger, it would cost $324.80; for Adobe Futura, it would have cost $435; and for the Lexicon No. 1 Adobe Bundle, I had difficulty finding how much it would cost in US dollars, but in Euro, it would cost $1,829.63. Total, that’s $2,854.43, which is an obscene amount.

2)

My name in Grumpy Cat, Linux Libertine, Revolution, and Riesling

My name in Grumpy Cat, Linux Libertine, Revolution, and Riesling

3) The typefaces I selected to be my workhorse typefaces are TypoSlabserif as my serif font, and GeosansLight as my sans-serif font. I chose TypoSlabserif because it’s legible but still a bit more narrow, which I tend to like a bit more. I really liked that associations with slab serif fonts are difficult to pin down, because that could mean that they could fit in several different design aesthetics. I kept downloading a series of really light and narrow fonts, but they weren’t quite legible enough to use as a standard, workhorse sort of font. I selected GeosansLight because it’s still sticks with the narrow and lightly weighted aesthetic, but it is also pretty legible. I’m super into Old Style fonts, but my favorites are the fairly standard fonts like Georgia and Times New Roman, so I couldn’t choose them. I felt like there was enough contrast between the two selected fonts to be meaningful–while they both err on the lighter weighted side, they also contrast each other enough to distinguish between the two, especially because they’re in two different families: Geometric and Slab. Below is a screenshot of a recent paper in my two selected fonts:

 

A screenshot of one of my recent articles for the Trinitonian in TypoSlabSerif and GeoSansLight

A screenshot of one of my recent articles for the Trinitonian in TypoSlabSerif and GeoSansLight

Leave a Reply

